1 week on

13 Jan

This is my new blog, which I am going to run along my rosaslump one. This blog is going to be a visual one and it is going to monitor my hair growth after chemo over the next few months.

I finished chemo exactly a week ago today. What I am going to do is post pictures every week, every wednesday to be exact, to monitor how my hair, eyebrows and eyelashes included, grow. I will not wear any make up. I will bare my face and soul as it is. It was quite hard when I downloaded the photos (below) this morning. The vain side of me didn’t like what I saw: I look pale, washed out, tired and sick. I had not felt this unattractive since my teenage years and just wanted to carry on hiding  away from the world as I have been doing all these months. Under wigs and make-up and pretty dresses.

But no, I decided I would do it. To show myself and the world that there is a road to recovery, and that  involves getting your hair back! oh and hopefully some colour on my face too!

One week after last chemo

12 Responses to “1 week on”

  1. Rich January 14, 2010 at 1:49 pm #

    Have you ever seen THK 1138? You’re reminding me of the poster…

    http://www.imdb.com/media/rm3165822208/tt0066434

    Here’s to week 2!

  2. rosaslump January 14, 2010 at 1:54 pm #

    Oh my god!! that is so similar…ok week two i’ll put a tag on my ear…

  3. Rich January 14, 2010 at 5:14 pm #

    i meant THX

  4. Rich January 14, 2010 at 5:16 pm #

    Well, at least you can be safe in knowledge that you would fit right in to a future totalitarian regime run by a disembodied voice broadcast from illuminated pictures of jesus and the mouths of cyborg policemen.

    I envy this kind of visionary fashion-forwardness.

  5. Rich January 14, 2010 at 5:17 pm #

    Plus everybody looks like this in January.

  6. rosaslump January 14, 2010 at 5:29 pm #

    Hahahha….you funny thing…xx

  7. Fi January 14, 2010 at 6:42 pm #

    I think you look beautiful! Pale and interesting, remember!
    Will you trim your hair as it grows? I’ve heard it can grow differently when it first comes through – thinner and maybe curlier?
    Good luck and keep posting! X

  8. Cinta January 15, 2010 at 9:37 am #

    I am very proud of having such a brave friend! Seguro que el colorcito llega pronto. Muchos besos,

  9. Andy January 18, 2010 at 8:57 am #

    Okay Rosa L Andyx

  10. kerripennington December 11, 2011 at 11:51 pm #

    Thank you, thank you, thank you. I just now stumbled across your blog. I am due my very last chemo treatment (breast cancer) on December 28, 2011. I’ve done well with my hair loss up until recently. Bald isn’t so bad when you look decent, with eye lashes, eye brows and a pretty healthy complexion. These last rounds, I’ve lost it all. I look sick. I’ve recently become obsessed with my hair growth post chemo. I”m counting down the days until I look healthy once again. I so appreciate your blog. I ADORE your curls, and gives me such hope that in only a year, I should have a head full of hair and this will all be behind me. 🙂 Life after chemo. What a concept. I can’t wait! Thanks blog friend!
    Kerri Pennington
    http://www.babypennington.com

    • rosaslump December 12, 2011 at 9:51 am #

      Hello Kerri! I just read your blog post, thank you!! you had me in tears. I know how hard it is when you get to that stage, when you are at the end and chemo has really taken its toll on your physical appearance. I remember seeing a photo of myself taken at a party, I was in the background (not main subject of it) talking to someone and the “panda eyes” stood out so much!!! I was shocked, I looked so ill. But as you can see, soon enough it will all be behind you. Just be patient!!! I am going to share your beautiful post on my blog: that was the whole point of it, to help people cope with the physical changes that chemo brings about! xx

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Week 20 « Hair growth after chemo - May 27, 2010

    […] wearing them quite a bit to give my eyes a break from contact lenses. Also, I have eye make up one (which goes against the rules of the blog), hence the “full […]

Leave a Reply

