Week 16

27 Apr

“Did you cut your hair off??”

“Yes”

“It looks nice like that”

“Thanks! I like your hair. It’s very pretty”

“Thank you”

This was my conversation with an 8-year-old girl yesterday. She sat next to me on the bus, had one look at my hair and without hesitation she asked me the question. It is often said that children really speak their mind, and she was a true representation of that. It made me wonder how many adults would like to ask that question but don’t do it out of politeness and social correctness. It also made me wonder whether I should have told her “no, I got sick and lost it, and it is now coming back”. Why did I feel the need to protect her from the truth?

There was another hair-related incident later on that day. As I walked home, a barber who was chilling outside his shop took a look at my hair and said: “I can’t have you looking like that! come into my shop! I’ll sort out your hair!” and I was like “no, no! it’s ok, I’m growing it out!” and he insisted “come in and have a look in the mirror! I’ll do you a number 1!! I am a professional!!” to which I said “I know what it looks like!”. Truth is, he was right. That same morning I had a look int he mirror and realised that my hair was growing all uneven, but I was reluctant to shave it again. After the barber-encounter I decided to have one last shave. Well, after all, as he said, he is a professional…

This week’s pics! I am now out with no head covering full-time 🙂 It has taken 4 months, which I think it is slightly longer  than it is for other women. Oh and I am a day early this week as I am off to Barcelona tomorrow for my friend Oscar’s wedding (you may know him for his great weekly comments on this blog!).  Can’t wait! this post is dedicated to him and Luca, for many happy years together to come!

And I’m posting a token one this week because I really like this picture! spot and all 😉

11 Responses to “Week 16”

  1. Marie April 27, 2010 at 8:58 pm #

    WOW! What a difference a trim makes. It looks more intentional than just growing it out doesn’t it?
    You are a week ahead of me and I’m going for my first trim tomorrow – just to get the chemo stuff cut off.
    Have a great time at the wedding!

  2. Marie April 27, 2010 at 9:00 pm #

    Rosa I forgot to tell you that my eyebrows and eyelashes are very lush (better than before cancer) since I found a product called Rapid Lash. Don’t know if you have it there but maybe you can look for it.

    • rosaslump May 3, 2010 at 8:37 pm #

      I’ll have a look for rapid lash…

  3. oscar April 28, 2010 at 7:15 am #

    GRAZIE DI CUORE ROSA!

    CI VEDIAMO A BARCELLONA!

    MUA!

    P.S: HAVE YOU NOTED YOU’RE GETTING EVEN MORE BEAUTIFUL? MUST BE THE SPRING…

    • rosaslump May 3, 2010 at 8:37 pm #

      Grazie Oscar!! what a weekend… 🙂 and you’re a married man now!!!

  4. Kelly Valovich April 29, 2010 at 3:51 am #

    You look so beautiful! You get to go to the wedding without a wig, hat or scarf! I am OBSESSED with my hair. I feel like it is doing NOTHING! I stare at it everyday and look at your site, everyday! UGH! The one thing I want most! I am only 3 weeks done with chemo, but to me, it looks the same as it did when I shaved it! Show us pics from the wedding! Hope you enjoyed yourself!!!!!!! XO

    • rosaslump May 3, 2010 at 8:36 pm #

      As you know, I kow the feeling of looking at your hair every 5 minutes to see if there’s any change…be patient, as I tell everyone! it has taken me 4 months just to have a shaved head…it’s hard to see it grow slower than you want, but trust me, you will get there too! hope you enjoyed the wedding special x

  5. Deeply Amused May 2, 2010 at 9:00 am #

    You look beautiful rosa. Strength to you! sorry i haven’t been in touch since i saw you in London – i am promising to be a better friend and less of a recluse from now on! xxxx

  6. Andy May 5, 2010 at 1:40 pm #

    You look fabulous – Yo!!! x

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Week 18 « Hair growth after chemo - May 14, 2010

    […] rosaslump And the hair conversations keep on rolling in. This sunday just gone I caught the eye of yet another barber in my […]

  2. Week 26 (that’s half a year!) « Hair growth after chemo - July 10, 2010

    […] to one of the local barbers! they are always so keen to cut my […]

Leave a Reply

