Week 21

4 Jun

No looking too happy this week. I have had a bad breakout of spots. I hadn’t had one like that since I was 13 and I came back from my summer holiday at my grandparents with bad acne. Just in time to start school. Oh the joys of being a teenager. Well, it seems that my body has somehow decided to turn back the clock some 18 years. And here I am, a teenage girl trapped in the body of a 31-year-old. It is not fair. I suspect it may have something to do with my period coming back this month, mixed with taking tamoxifen. My hormones are probably going maaaaaad! I really hope this is a temporary thing. You may think it’s weird how despite having had a life threatening illness I still care about spots. You may have thought that cancer has put life into perspective. Well,  in many respects it has But when it comes to spots I cannot help feeling bothered by them! I am after all still a girl…

ok, this week’s photos…please note the strategically placed hand covering the worst bit of my face 😉

6 Responses to “Week 21”

  1. Kelly Valovich June 5, 2010 at 1:23 am #

    Looking good girl! Don’t stress over the acne. I delt with that when I was a teenager too. I am 9 weeks done with chemo and I have a big pimple between my eyes! It just feels good to be alive! Hang in there! You look beautiful. You have gone thru far worse.

  2. Oscar June 5, 2010 at 7:21 am #

    I agree with kelly, you’ve gone thru far worse. And this is just temporary.
    UN BESO!!

  3. Kelly Valovich June 10, 2010 at 9:42 pm #

    Rosa! I went to the store with nothing on my head! I was off a week with being done with treatment. Today is 9 weeks out of treatment. I got a lot of stares, but SCREW THEM! I am glad to be alive. Hope all is well with you!

    • rosaslump June 12, 2010 at 10:32 am #

      Oh Kelly! that is great!!!!!! and as you said, yeah screw them. really. we have so many reasons to smile, don’t we? good on you. brave lady! x

  4. Cyn June 15, 2010 at 9:10 pm #

    Hey, Rosa – found your site while search for advice on what to do with my own post-chemo hair. I love that you are blogging this. I, too, spend much of my day rubbing my head. I mean, what the heck, everyone else is doing it too! I’m in my 6th month post-chemo, and my hair is coming in wavier than before (and with more grey). So it looks really goofy in the back. But I am so desperate to grow it out that I really don’t want to cut it. So I appreciate your attitude. I’m going out for my first public social events sans wig or hat (anniversary dinner with husband, play with dear friend) because I am just so done with being uncomfortable. My very expensive wig always looked like a wig to me. So, I’m planning on just rocking some very cool earrings and a cool scarf. Let ’em stare – I’m alive.

    Thanks for sharing your wisdom with the world.

    • rosaslump June 16, 2010 at 11:29 am #

      Thanks Cyn! had a look at your blog and I can really relate to some of the things you mentioned…like the whole thing of being thrown into the health care system after the cancer diagnosis. I had to buy a special diary just to keep up with all the appointments!!! hope you had a great time sans wig or hat! x

Leave a Reply

