Week 22

12 Jun

Never been so late with posting! the photos are actually from thursday, but I wasn’t happy with them. Thought I’d take some more on friday but that never happened. It’s been a rather low week, but thankfully I am on the up again. That’s the thing with living with cancer, there are times when I feel I am just in control and “everything will be fine”. And other times, well other time it doesn’t quite feel that way. But really, I think what has been happening this week is that I have been grieving for my old self, for the young woman who went in to have alump checked being repeatedly told “it will probably be nothing” and came back home with a breast cancer diagnosis. It is a strange feeling, because it is me, but it has been so long and so much has happened that it is nearly as if I can distance myself from it all and see it as if it was a movie. But that was last week. Today it’s saturday and the sun is out! I have a great weekend ahead of me: a run, a clothes swap party and finally a train journey out to Beaconsfield to see my friends and their kids! Sunday a summer fete at my friend’s daughter school and pizza and beer when I get back to London. Sounds like a great weekend to me πŸ˜‰

This weeks photos! an update on the break out of spots: it has stopped but there are a few marks left behind. Oh and also, check out my facial hair!!! what the…didn’t have that before chemo! I have read online about other women who also got more facial hair after chemo.. I am thinking of the best way to get rid off it. Hmmmm…Also, I put a semi-permanent dye, just dark brown. I am wondering whether I should change it to red…watch this space!

Feeling my hair as that's what I do 90% of the time now!




4 Responses to “Week 22”

  1. Kelly Valovich June 24, 2010 at 4:44 pm #

    Our lives our transformed FOREVER! It is so sad. So young to have to go through all of this. Today was my last day of radiation and I have to go back again for a follow up in 4 weeks. IT WILL be Drs appts for a LONG TIME! HATE IT! BUT, we have to make the best of a bad situation. There is a reason for all of this. We are meant to help other. You have helped me so much! Thank you!

    • rosaslump June 26, 2010 at 11:24 am #

      Thanks Kelly! your weekly comments really help me too. I really appreciate your support πŸ™‚ Congratulations on finishing radiation, another thing off the list!

      hel

      • Eve April 13, 2016 at 3:20 pm #

        Hi ! thanks for the photos ! I’m three months post chemo and watched often your photos to give me patience for my growing hair πŸ™„ here you are speaking about facial hair, I’m a bothered to by hair on the face that I didn’t have before ! 😟 as I had a hysterectomy I’m also in menopause at 43 years old… I wanted to ask you, what have you done for your facial hair ? could you give me some advices ? thanks a lot and all the best to and your family ! ❣️

      • rosaslump April 20, 2016 at 10:54 am #

        Hello Eve! sorry for the late reply (saw your message on Facebook too), life it just too busy here ;)… so facial hair, I think I waxed it a couple of times and then it just disappeared. I do have thick hairs on my chin now, but I reckon that is just age! so be patient, it will most likely fall like mine. Lots of love xxx

Leave a Reply

