Week 24

26 Jun

Can you believe that in 2 weeks it will be half a year since I finished chemo and I started documenting the hair growth? mad. It doesn’t seem so long. And my hair definitely doesn’t feel that long either! curious to see what will happen in the next 6 months though. I think that it is then that the blog will finish, a year of hair growth after chemotherapy.

My trip back home was great. I briefly went to my school re-union but didn’t stay long. Apart from the fact that I was at my mate’s birthday pool party, and I wanted to go back to it, I think another reason I didn’t wanna stay long was my recent experience of cancer. The first person I bumped into, someone I was not close to just a guy from my school, was like “Oh wow, look at your hair, what a drastic cut!!! so how long has it been like this?” and I was like “Oh yeah, for a while…”. Now I feel like I should have said “Oh since I did chemotherapy for breast cancer!”. Nosey man. And it was the same with people from my class. There was about 8 of us, and of course there was a focus on my hair in the conversation. I did tell these guys though, and of course they looked shocked. But everyone was very sweet and they kept it simple with a “but you are ok now?” and I said “yes”. Yes I am ok for now…

Lets have a look at this week’s pics. I have decided to put a few extra ones to show the texture of the hair. It’s coming back quite wavy, and very thick. It is as frizzy and fluffy as it was before it fell off. Lucky me. And at the moment it’s long enough to get all messy, but not long enough to cut it into a style. It kind of just sits on top of my head. Not that I am complaining. Love having hair again!

3 Responses to “Week 24”

  1. Elizabeth June 29, 2010 at 2:03 pm #

    I will miss your blog when you finish. I’ve so enjoyed your thoughtful comments as well as your excellent photographs documenting the regrowth of your hair.
    I too was diagnosed with BC and was on a similar treatment regimen as you I think. I was not so lucky as I have suffered permanent hair loss and look as if I have female pattern hair loss.
    Even though I’m old enough to be your mother, I guess your bog provided vicarious satisfaction in seeing your lovely hair return so beautifully.
    Thank you for your posts. I’ve appreciated them immensely. It meant a lot.
    Good luck with your PhD.

    • rosaslump July 1, 2010 at 9:51 am #

      Thanks so much for your lovely and encouraging comment, it means so much to me to hear from women who benefit from the blog! very sad to hear though that your hair is not coming back. And don’t miss me yet, there are still at leas another 26 weeks ahead of us!

  2. Kelly Valovich July 4, 2010 at 12:15 pm #

    Your hair looks great! I can’t believe the wave in it! I am now 12 weeks done with chemo and EVERYONE I run in to, they they think I shaved my head. When I tell them what really happened, they tell me that I would have enough “balls” to shave my head.
    I won’t let ANYONE have pity on me. I want them to be proud of me and all I have accomplished. We have come so far and have been through so much, HOLD THAT HEAD UP HIGH AND BE PROUD!!!!

Leave a Reply

