Week 26 (that’s half a year!)

10 Jul

I was doing some retail therapy in my neighbourhood last sunday when, after paying for a cute little summer dress,  a woman approached me…

“Excuse me, could I just ask you…where did you get your hair cut?”

“oh…mmmm…aaahhh…I shaved it…and that’s how it’ grown back”

In my head  it was more like “well, I lost it to chemo and I was bald for a while then it started growing back then I shaved it,  then it grew some more but it wasn’t quite right so I shaved it again, and then once more and it finally looked like a decent shaved head and then I didn’t feel the need to shave it again and then I let it grow and this is where I am at now”.

And I guess this is what it is like at the moment. To the outside world I am possibly a “brave woman” who’s cut her hair very short. Or maybe someone who is making a style statement through having cropped her hair a la garcon. But in reality, I am someone who hasn’t chosen her hairstyle (even if I like it!). I am growing my hair back after chemo.

And this just shows how sometimes in life what we thing something is it is just not. In a sense it’s like parallel worlds. We assume things are the way we see it,  when they really are not.

And do you want to know what my advice was to her?

“Go to one of the local barbers! they are always so keen to cut my hair

And her response…

“You may be right…”

This week’s pics show exactly half a year of hair growth!!!!! can’t wait to see what happens in the next 6 months…

4 Responses to “Week 26 (that’s half a year!)”

  1. oscar July 10, 2010 at 1:29 pm #

    Gran consejo el q le diste. Creo q yo tb me voy a Dalston a coger hora en alguno de sus peluqueros.

    Un beso dsd la casa de FAbio y Elisa.

    MUA!!!!

    • rosaslump July 11, 2010 at 11:25 pm #

      Venga va! te pido hora para el martes?

  2. Martin July 11, 2010 at 1:26 am #

    Rosa, you just look great. Looking forward to a proper boogie with you next week. xx

    • rosaslump July 11, 2010 at 11:25 pm #

      Thank uuuu!!! can’t wait to dance the night away. I cannot believe that I am leaving…x

Leave a Reply

