Week 30

5 Aug

I am still at my grandparent’s house which is really one of those places that as a child you feel terrified of. And as an adult you continue to feel so. Honestly, when I am here at night-time and I walk round the house I always expect to see a ghost.  After all, my grandmother and my great-grandmother died here. Maybe a great-grandfather too. But to this day, a ghost has never appeared. In fact, last night my brother, who is also visiting, asked me why I share a bed with my mum instead of sleeping in the room that I currently use as my study. “It’s grandma’s old room” I replied. “And?” he asked perplexed. “And I’m scared of ghosts”… he then told me that my mum’s older brother, who sadly passed away at the age of 2, had died in the bedroom where he’s staying and where I have no problem sleeping in. “No he didn’t!” was my reply. “don’t you believe me? Check with mum or grandad”. And so I did. I asked my mum this morning and she confirmed what I already knew. He had not died there. I also found out that my mum moved to this house, which I believed was her house from birth, at the age of 8 or 9. I now know more about my family’s history. One of my favourite things to do when I’m here is hearing about my family’s past.

So, I wanted to share some photos of the place with you…then move on to the hair growth…

The ancestors' photos, 3 generations.

My late grandma's bedroom

This is a type of certificate or diploma given to my family after the death of my grandma's brother in the spanish civil war, which has been hanging in the same spot in the house ever since i can remember.

Back of the house, where the chickens live.

Sometimes when I am here and we talk of the past or I walk around, I feel like I’m in a magical realism novel. I love the fact that there is so much family history around, so many characters ans stories and that it really goes far back.

And now back to the hair. I think what the photo shows is that my eyebrows are not progressing all that well…but the hair keeps on growing! The lighting is not great, but taking self portaits balancing your camera on an old trunk  is hard!! just hope you can appreciate the hair.  Also, this week I’m using explorer instead of firefox and the uploading works differently hence the comments at the bottom of each page (if I do not put them the photos are automatically aligned to the left and I am a real perfectionist when it comes to these things).

getting longer and thicker, unlike the eyebrows...

A bit displaced

Left side

Check out the waves and the curls!

2 Responses to “Week 30”

  1. Kelly Valovich August 15, 2010 at 3:01 pm #

    THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR SHARING! I love it! I feel like I am traveling the world! I live in a tiny town in PA. Lots of family, but nothing interesting. THANK YOU! THANK YOU! THANK YOU!!! I look forward to reading your blog!!

  2. mhartham October 20, 2010 at 10:42 pm #

    Hola
    No nos conocemos, solo compartimos el pueblo de nuestros antepasados. Suelo buscar el pueblo algunas veces en google, y fue cuando te encontre, si necesitas algo y puedo ayudarte ya sabes… Me encontraras.

Leave a Reply

