Weeks 36, 37 and 38 (all rolled into one post!)

5 Oct

I am very late, pretty much a month without posting! and I guess this is a reflection of the life I am living just now, which is quite different to my life in London. And definitely the opposite of what it was like during treatment. I am, as you know, moving around a lot. I am living!!!!  and I am definitely feeling alive and healthy. I just keep on hoping that this lasts for a long time, forever even.

So first stop: Morocco!! I went to see my dad and his wife and lil’ brother. They split their time between Barcelona and morocco and now that my health allows me to, I took the chance to make my first visit. And what can I say other than “it was great”! I absolutely loved it. Lovely people. Lovely food. Lovely leather bags. So here are the photos from week 36, next to one of the many beautiful lamps that my dad has…

On week 37 I was still in Morocco and look what they did to me!!!! isn’t it pretty? they are henna tattoos, non-permament drawings usually made  on the hands and feet.

And you know what happened on week 38? I had a haircut! yes I did. I wanted to give my hair some shape, well I wanted to have a hairstyle. And, even though I was pretty shocked at first (short hair again!), it soon started to feel great! i think it is because all the hair and all those curls reminded me of my cancer, as, in actual fact I was growing my hair after chemo. Now, however, I will be growing my hair after a haircut. Does this make sense to you? here are the shots, taken by my lovely friend Paul who came to visit me in Barcelona. I am now staying at my friend’s flat while he’s away on holidays. I am so lucky, I thank my lucky stars in fact…

9 Responses to “Weeks 36, 37 and 38 (all rolled into one post!)”

  1. Becs October 5, 2010 at 9:37 pm #

    Great haircut Rosa, it really suits you.

  2. oscar October 6, 2010 at 6:28 am #

    Wow! Rosa… q guapa. M encanta el “i’m living!”

    Enjoy!

  3. Heather October 20, 2010 at 2:03 pm #

    I wanted to thank you for sharing your pictures and experiences. I had my last chemo from breast cancer 5 days ago & am sitting with my laptop this morning looking up hair and eyelash regrowth and found your blog. You are a beautiful and inspiring woman & your pictures give me hope. Best of luck to you and thank you again-
    Heather

    • rosaslump June 29, 2011 at 6:09 pm #

      Thanks Heather! hope your hair regrowth is going well!

  4. Claire January 5, 2012 at 10:53 pm #

    Hi Rosa, I just wanted to say a massive thank you for posting your journey of hair growth after chemo. I finished my treatment in July 2011 and managed to keep a light covering of hair right until the very end of the treatment. I then decided to shave it all off and start a fresh. I am now at week 22 since I shaved it, and definately need to add some shape to it. I had the most beautiful straight long hair before the chemo but I am embracing my new black curly locks and will take inspiration from your blog.

    • rosaslump April 8, 2012 at 10:00 pm #

      Hi Claire! thanks for you lovely comment. Great to hear you are embracing your black curly locks! hope it is all going well.

  5. Lynn April 18, 2012 at 5:49 pm #

    Thank you for your blog. I’m eight weeks past my last chemo, with eyelashes and eyebrows almost completely back. I had a meltdown at three weeks past, because three weeks past my second-to-last chemo, I’d had some regrowth. It took five weeks past my truly last chemo for “genuine” hair to start coming back, and then, had the first “baby” hair, then the second “real” hair growth. You look beautiful (but then, you looked beautiful with no hair at all, too, as do we all. Thank you!

    • rosaslump June 8, 2012 at 9:36 am #

      Hi Lynn,

      Thanks for your comment! reading it took me back to my first few months after chemo, and believe it or not, put a smile on my face. What a frustrating time!!! Hope is going well,

      Rosa

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A year on (from my first haircut!) « Hair growth after chemo - October 21, 2011

    […] was a year on from my first (and last!) haircut on the 30th of September and I took a few picture to show you all again how my […]

Leave a Reply

