Weeks 41 and 44

12 Nov

I cannot believe it has been over a month since I last posted. This is bad bad bad of me!!!! haven’t even taken photos!!!! I am truly ashamed. But in a sense this is a reflection of my life at the moment, a bit all over the place, partly nomadic…this is about to change I am soon moving to a lovely flat in the centre of Barcelona city! I am so happy about it, specially as I recently had a cancer scare, which turned out to be nothing. All my future plans could have easily and rapidly changed. But luckily that was not the case!

So…lets have a look at the photos! between week 41 and  44 I have had a haircut..it grew so fast and so much! shame there are no photos to probe it. But I am determined to post every week from now on, as I have decided to carry on with the hair growth and stop cutting my hair. Or maybe I shoudl rename the blog “hair cuts after chemo”? just kidding…

And week 44, I straightened my hair so it looks pretty short…but it isn’t really!!! I haven’t cut the top, just the sides.

14 Responses to “Weeks 41 and 44”

  1. The Photodiarist November 20, 2010 at 10:38 pm #

    Love love love your short look. Glad that the second lump was only a false alarm and not reality.

  2. Kelly Valovich November 29, 2010 at 3:11 am #

    Looking good! THANK GOD the lump aka the fucker was just a lump!!!!!

  3. Cyn November 29, 2010 at 8:33 pm #

    I am loving your hair and the confidence you have worn it at every point up until now! Mine is a little longer than yours before you had it cut. I too am wanting to do something, anything. But part of me is terrified of interfering with getting it to the length I eventually want it to be. I will continue to watch and see if your curls come back!

    • rosaslump June 29, 2011 at 6:08 pm #

      Hi Cyn!

      How is your hair coming along? my curls have come back! will post a photo soon!

  4. Raül Vilar January 14, 2011 at 7:04 pm #

    Rosa, lovely blog, lovely writting and lovely last haircut!
    Igual que amb l’altre blog, no he pogut parar de llegir-lo fins l’ultima entrada…
    Ens veiem a Barcelona aviat!!!

    • rosaslump June 29, 2011 at 6:06 pm #

      Gràcies guapo!

  5. Toma Valanciute July 12, 2011 at 7:07 pm #

    🙂 You are amzing! Good luck!

    • rosaslump October 21, 2011 at 4:29 pm #

      Awh thanks!

  6. Lena August 12, 2011 at 7:20 pm #

    Hi Rosa,

    I had my last chemo 16 weeks ago. Last week I started radiation. That will last for 2 month. Right now, my hair looks like yours at 16 week. I am not as brave as you are. I wear a wig outside… I like to look at your pictures to see when my hair will be long enough for me to get rid of the wig… I think maybe 10 more weeks.

    I want to thank you for your pictures and your blog.

    Lena

    • rosaslump October 21, 2011 at 4:34 pm #

      Hi Lena,

      Thanks for your comment! be patient with your hair growth, even if it’s hard at times! a year and half on and I am still growing mine! take your wig off when you feel ready for it, you’ll see how great it feels when you do! by the way, your name is on my list of “favourite girl’s names”.

      take care x

  7. Victoria November 11, 2011 at 8:44 pm #

    Thanks for doing this blog! It gave me hope lol. I’m 17 with ovarian cancer , I started chemo a little over 3 weeks ago. My hair started sheding bad last week so I cut most of it off. It’s getting worse now with some balding so I guess I should just shave it all off. Its kinda hard to be confident as a teen going from long hair to bald & most don’t understand whats wrong & stare. But I’m glad you made this & it gave me some kind of hope & I might just do the same & make my own blog. Thanks (:

    • rosaslump November 19, 2011 at 7:47 pm #

      Hi Victoria!
      There was a girl, who was a similar age to you, who was also going through chemo and who sent me an email a while back. It really made me think that losin your hair at any age is hard, but when you are in your teens it must be double hard, and so you have to work on your confidence twice as hard! i think you can do chemo and still look pretty. Use scarves, hats or wigs if you don’t like going bald.Use a little make up to brighten up your face. The best advice I can give you is that it is all temporary. In a little while you’ll have your hair back, till then be patient and keep your chin up as much as you can! Do your own blog, it is so therapeutic and it may help other young girls, as well as older women too. xx

    • Lena November 21, 2011 at 5:13 pm #

      Hi Victoria,

      Good luck on your treatment. I just want to share with you a website that I recently found. http://stupidcancer.com/ This is for young cancer survivors like you. Maybe you do not feel like going out right now, but once you done with your chemo, you will need more support. At least I feel that I do. I just met with a president of my local chapter. She finished chemo 2.5 years ago and her hair is long. So do not worry it all grows back. For now just wear a wig. I used to get many compliments on mine. People thought it was my real hair and liked the color. And I had synthetic wig, not real hair.

      • rosaslump December 2, 2011 at 5:48 pm #

        Hi Lena!

        thanks for replying to Victoria 🙂

Leave a Reply

