Weeks 1, 2, 5, 6 ,7, 8, 9, 10 11, 12, 13, 14 15, 16,18, 19

3 Dec

A while after I started this blog and I got some regular readers and some encouraging comments I thought is be useful to show other people¡s hair growth journeys. Mine is only ONE of many, and thus not really representative of how fast or slow hair grows after chemo. In fact I think mine took a little longer than other women’s, but then when it did there was no stopping it! I have thick hair before losing it to chemo and it has come back just as thick and strong). So for this post you are not going to see my face but that of another woman who recently suffered breast cancer and that, like many of us, became “obsessed” with her hair growth. She monitored it with self-portaits which she kindly agreed to let me share with all of you. This is the first collaboration, and hopefully not the last. If you want to appear in the blog drop me a line rosa.panades@gmail.com

I have had this great collage for a while, and there is a reason I have had the urge to post it today. As I approached my last herceptin (which was today, Friday 3d December), which marks the end of my treatment, I got the news that someone else I know through my blog got abnormal MRI results, and is now awaiting to undergo a biopsy. I, just like many of you, know who hard it is to go for tests and to wait for results. I hope with all my heart that she gets good news.  So I wanted this post to be about other women, because we are all part of the same journey.

 

 

 

3 Responses to “Weeks 1, 2, 5, 6 ,7, 8, 9, 10 11, 12, 13, 14 15, 16,18, 19”

  1. Wajiah December 5, 2010 at 8:28 am #

    Hi rosa thank u so much ur all pics of hair regrowth encouraging me alot im 19yrs old and i have breast cancer now im 9th weeks after chemo,every weeks i see ur picture its encouraging me alot my elder sister she was only 22 and my mother she was 31yrs old they also had breast cancer so there are no more,when i got so that make sooo disoppionted but when i saw ur pics so now i got some hope that many people who suffered from breast cancer they r still living they r getting well and their hair start to regrowing,,before chemo i had too good hair and my skin was fair but now my hair start to regrowth like soft FUZZ and i have dark circle under of my eyes,, thank you rosa i hope u always have health after this and never come back this dirty cancer,TaKE CaRe

  2. read this post here November 4, 2012 at 1:50 pm #

    My grandma had cancer. She cut off all of her hair before she went bald completely because of the chemotherapy. When her hair did grow back, it grew faster and finer then it did before. I commend you on sharing your experience with us.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A year on (from my first haircut!) « Hair growth after chemo - October 21, 2011

    […] Hair growth after chemo One girl. One head. And her odyssey to grow her hair back after chemo. « Weeks 1, 2, 5, 6 ,7, 8, 9, 10 11, 12, 13, 14 15, 16,18, 19 […]

Leave a Reply

