A year on (from my first haircut!)

21 Oct

It was a year on from my first (and last!) haircut on the 30th of September and I took a few picture to show you all again how my hair growth after chemotherapy is going. And what a difference a year makes, don’t you think? and how about looking at my first post ever? 1 year and 9 months have passed since then.

Something funnily beautiful happened last week. I was working at the market stall in Barcelona, where I have been working for the past year selling children’s clothes. It was nearing the end of the day and was just talking to other market traders when two females approached my stall and started looking at the colourful trousers. As I approached them and said “hello”, one of the girls turned her head, looked at me and we both went “are you..? oh my god!”. So who was she? she is the person who appeared in the previous post, and whom I’d never met before in person! She was introduced to my blog by a friend of hers who is from Barcelona and we’d had contact only through facebook. But we never had the chance to meet in London before I left to relocate to Barcelona. And despite a couple of visits to my home city, we had not managed to arrange a coffee. So we finally did!  One of the things we both agreed on in relation to having had breast cancer is  how quickly it all starts feeling like a dream, like a book you’ve read and you vaguely remember the plot.  It is now around 2 years since I went bald. Time flies. And life goes back to normal.

However, despite this dream-like feeling, and in way that seems contradictory, cancer is now part of me and my biography and I get daily reminders of it. It is not just the physical scars, or the occasional check-ups but the way we live surrounded by cancer: news about break-through cancer treatments, about celebrities, people in the public eye or around us either being diagnosed with or dying from cancer, posters reminding us that there are cancer charities out there that need our support. Cancer, cancer, cancer. It is a chapter of my life that I now feel has been closed. However, all those reminders make me wonder, but not fear, if it is one that I will be forced to re-write again.

12 Responses to “A year on (from my first haircut!)”

  1. Emily November 5, 2011 at 10:50 pm #

    Your hair looks sensational! Strong colourful and curly! GO GIRL!!

    • rosaslump November 6, 2011 at 6:12 pm #

      Thanks so much Emily! your salon looks amazing by the way!

  2. katie sokoler November 19, 2011 at 7:03 pm #

    I just love that you documented your journey. So amazing!

    • rosaslump November 19, 2011 at 7:30 pm #

      Thanks katie! I love your blog and your posts cheered me up in the down days of my treatment. It still brightens up my days!

  3. Lesley Day January 31, 2012 at 12:45 pm #

    Just getting close to the end of my last cycle of chemo for ovarian cancer and the photos of hair growing back is so reassuring. My hair was very fine and straight and now as short as it is now it seems to have a kink in it. So glad I found your blog.

    • rosaslump April 8, 2012 at 9:46 pm #

      Hi Lesley! hope life after chemo is treating you well and that the hair is coming out nicely!

      • Lesley Day April 9, 2012 at 8:36 am #

        I sent a reply a min ago but not sure it went to you.

  4. Lesley Day April 9, 2012 at 8:42 am #

    No it didn’t!!!!

    What I said was my hair is growing nicely after 8 weeks after chemo. It’s about half and inch but grey and mousy colour and straight by the looks like my natural hair. I see you used a semi-permanent quite soon. I read that you had to wait six months after chemo??? Also I use the Alpecin and skin hair etc!! You would do anything to make your hair grow faster! Also I have the facial hair too, I see you had yours waxed, how is it after a while, does it go back to normal or do you still have to go for waxing?

    I recently went back to work on a phased return (small company), I work in the office for the boss, he has ideas of getting me to work my normal hours dead quick say by sort of next week, so he emails clients! My doctor is going to put the blockers on this though as she said if I work to much now I could end up being ill again.

    Lovin your blog its really good.
    Take care
    Lesley x

    • rosaslump June 8, 2012 at 9:44 am #

      Hi Lesley,

      Sorry for the late reply! yes it says everywhere to wait 6 months, but I didn´t and it was fine…the facial hair is gone too 🙂

      As for working, well I a no expert as I was studying at the time, but I suspect you should be going incororating slowly.

      See you on facebook!

      Rosa

  5. Theodore Kelly January 9, 2013 at 11:21 am #

    Something funnily beautiful happened last week. I was working at the market stall in Barcelona, where I have been working for the past year selling children’s clothes. It was nearing the end of the day and was just talking to other market traders when two females approached my stall and started looking at the colourful trousers. As I approached them and said “hello”, one of the girls turned her head, looked at me and we both went “are you..? oh my god!”. So who was she? she is the person who appeared in the previous post , and whom I’d never met before in person! She was introduced to my blog by a friend of hers who is from Barcelona and we’d had contact only through facebook. But we never had the chance to meet in London before I left to relocate to Barcelona. And despite a couple of visits to my home city, we had not managed to arrange a coffee. So we finally did! One of the things we both agreed on in relation to having had breast cancer is how quickly it all starts feeling like a dream, like a book you’ve read and you vaguely remember the plot. It is now around 2 years since I went bald. Time flies. And life goes back to normal.

  6. Rosario Dominguez September 27, 2013 at 3:43 pm #

    Love your hair! mine still in that ugly phase between curly short and spongy 🙂
    Thanks for your blog!!
    Rosario

    • rosaslump January 13, 2014 at 9:21 pm #

      hello Rosario! thanks! hope your hair has passed the “ugly” phase 😉

Leave a Reply

