Just have to share…too

12 Dec

I absolutely love getting comments from readers of my blog. They are encouraging and show to me that it was the right decision to make something personal, my hair growth journey and life post cancer and post chemo, public.

Today I received a lovely comment from someone, and when I visited her blog I found a post by Kerri, who is at the end of her chemo treatment. Check it out here!

I have to share it..too. Thanks Kerri!

13 Responses to “Just have to share…too”

  1. kerripennington December 12, 2011 at 6:05 pm #

    Loved catching up on your life! Wow! Sounds so exciting. My husband’s dream is to live in Europe, specifically Spain. (He ran with the bulls in Pamplona in 2000.) I hope one day we’ll be there and will be able to mee! 🙂

    Thank you again for the inspiration!
    Kerri

  2. Elizabeth January 4, 2012 at 3:43 pm #

    I just found your blog…thank you so much for this gift! I am exactly one year behind you…my cancer diagnosis was May 5, 2011 (yours was May 6th) and my last day of chemo was December 5 (and yours, I believe, Dec 5th).

    As it is 12 degrees now in Pennsylvania, I have no hope of going without wig, hat or scarf for a while, but your blog has me dreaming of summer days when I might run into someone who loves my short-cropped hair and thinks that I decided to cut it that way on a whim…

    Thanks for the inspiration!
    Elizabeth

    • rosaslump April 8, 2012 at 10:02 pm #

      Hi Elizabeth! Spring is here and I hope that you get to wear your hair out, without any covering…let me know if you get any comments, I would be surprised if you didn´t!!! now that my hair is back to a normal lenght I hardly get any attention for it. So enjoy it while it lasts…I even dream of chopping it off sometimes 😉

  3. Marzz January 21, 2012 at 11:41 am #

    I’ve just spent the past few hours reading through your blogs, and I’ve gotta say: thanks! My girlfriend has recently finished her chemotherapy treatment (long story ‘short’, she was diagnosed the day before her birthday, and then it was a very long 4 months of treatment), and has of course been particularly focused on her hair. Your blog has helped me understand not only a bit more of how the process of “hair after chemo” works, but has also given me a bit more perspective on the experience of cancer. I’m not the one with cancer, so I could never know what’s going on in my girlfriend’s mind as I stayed with her. She was my (and her own) first personal experience with cancer (and I’d hope last), so I had no basis on how to behave (which lead to many scary moments, and even some surprising revelations about myself). That’s how life generally works of course, but vague patterns learned from past experiences can at least give you a bit of a foundation.

    So I thank you, as your blogs have given me a clearer picture of the foundations that were created during this time. I also thank the internet for being such a convenient medium, one where a person can share what is essentially a very personal journal/scrapbook that can be found publicly by others years later. Although I can talk to people and hear their experiences personally (and it always makes me feel like I’m so “new” to the experiences that I had no idea other people that I knew had already gone through it), it’s definitely great boon to not only be able to read in-depth/thought out/personal experiences, but also see visuals related to it.

    Once again, thank you!
    – Z

    • rosaslump April 8, 2012 at 9:58 pm #

      Hi Marz,

      thanks so much for your comment. having cancer not only afects you personally, but also those around you, and I believe that it is sometimes harder to deal with it for others than for yourself. Once you are diagnosed you internalise things much quicker, as you live with it every second from then one. Also, you start a psychologicla process and coping mechanisms related to the experience of HAVING cancer, which others lacking the experience cannot do. So I am glad that by sharing those I have given you a little insight into what your partner may be going through. Cancer is scary, simple as that. No doubt this is also a journey for you, and I hope that you are sailing through with as little bumps as possible.

  4. chloe February 14, 2012 at 10:44 am #

    Hello, i have just finished my final chemo on friday and i really love looking at your blog – i can imagine my own hair growth now and i am so excited and impatient. I hate being bald and am so fed up of my wig!! I am 29 and should not be looking like this! Anyway thanks for having a lovely blog – i will check back in in a few weeks to compare my hair growth!
    best of luck with everything chloe xx

    • rosaslump April 8, 2012 at 10:05 pm #

      Hi Chloe! you are now 2 months post chemo, hope all is going well with the hair regrowth. Be patient! the first few months I found very frustrating! of course you should not be looking like that, it is very annoying and you have every right to be angry..! xx

  5. Darlene March 17, 2012 at 4:28 am #

    Thank you so much for creating your blog.

    I hope you are doing well. You look wonderful!
    I too was diagnosed with breast cancer last April and in my quest to feel something positive while wishing for my hair to grow back, I
    came across your blog…it is the best, and it has made a real difference.
    I would check out the fuzz on my head and then go to your page and see how your hair growth was by the end of that particular week. I was always instantly encouraged! 🙂
    Your blog gives more support to more people than you will ever know.

    • rosaslump April 8, 2012 at 9:34 pm #

      hello! glad to hear that my blos was helpful in what no doubt can be a very frustrating experience! the first few months of growing your hair back after chemo can be a real pain! hang in there, you are already a year away from the end of your treatment 🙂 congratulations!

  6. sunny August 29, 2012 at 10:19 pm #

    i have had breast cancer and lost my hair, and now it slow growing back but i wanted to know if it ok to have a haircut, so that my hair can grow back fast. need help ?

    • rosaslump August 30, 2012 at 6:51 pm #

      Hi Sunny,

      well, I am no hair expert but I did shave my hair once (i think around week 10?) to even it all out. Then a few months later too. It really depends how you feel, some people prefer to just grow it out I suppose, I went for giving it a bit of shape as it was growing, which may have made the hair growth process take longer! good luck

  7. Victoria Lyall January 6, 2013 at 10:11 am #

    You have a wonderful style of writing and I am amazed that I am feeling extremely similar feelings as those you’ve written about. It’s comforting to know that I am not alone! I read other blogs sometimes, but I am often not in a similar “life situation” as those writers. Thank you for writing this.

    • rosaslump January 11, 2013 at 9:21 pm #

      Hi Victoria! thanks for your lovely comment, I´ve aways wanted to be a writer, so I may give it a go once I finish my PhD – you just gave me confidence boost! and so hppy to hear that you can relate to my experiences, that is what this is all about: sharing them with everyone out there so we do not feel alone (as it can often happen when you have cancer)! Hope you are well xx

Leave a Reply

