Three years on from cancer

8 Jun

May 6th was 3 years since I was diagnosed with breast cancer, and you know what happened? I completely forgot about it! That day I was flying back from Rio de Janeiro, where I had been working for a week. Before my trip I realized that my flight back was on the day I was diagnosed, which made me think how life changes. Only three years ago I was in a hospital room being told I had cancer. Press the fast forward button and here I am, flying back from Rio and getting on with my life. Funnily enough last year I forgot too.  The strange thing is that I actually think about cancer every day. And my tearful moments often catch me by surprise: I can be running on the treadmill listening to Kanye West sing ”that that don´t kill me can only make me stronger” and then I am transported back to that hospital room, to the chemo suite, and I feel all chokep up. I have had many moments like that.

So, three years on from cancer and this is what my life and my hair post chemo look like:

Selling stuff in a second hand market. Ps. not that my hair is UP! those who have been bald, you know what I mean…

Image

Flying to Rio…

Image

Being in Rio…

Image

Thinking (hard) about my phd

Image

And having my face licked by my dog!

Image

And all of this thanks to the two loves of my life: my boyfriend Raoul and our dog Aby. The two most gorgeous and fun creatures on this planet!

Image

21 Responses to “Three years on from cancer”

  1. Alex June 10, 2012 at 3:51 pm #

    Thanks so much for the blog. I’m 30, had breast cancer and in the waiting-for-hair-to-grow-back-after-chemo stage . I want to throw the scarves away so badly! But just have some bits of fluff on top of my head right now. I’m not sure if googling makes the time go faster or slower, but it was really nice to find pictures of someone my age and hear that you are getting on with your life (with lovely hair!). I can’t wait to get to that point.

    • rosaslump August 26, 2012 at 11:15 am #

      Hi alex!

      As it has been over 2 months since you wrote to me you may have started seeing some improvement hair wise. Am I right? I hope so!! xx

  2. Beth Maddox Febbo June 12, 2012 at 9:29 pm #

    Thank you so much for your wonderful blog!! I am 10 weeks from last chemo, and just like you – my hair can’t grow fast enough!!! So every few weeks i take a look at your blog and it gives me hope (that the hair will come). Thank you. Beth from Austin, Texas – USA

    • rosaslump August 26, 2012 at 11:12 am #

      Hi Beth! it has been over two months since you left the comment, your hair should be even longer by now! i hope you are starting to see a difference. All I can seay is… be patient! xx

  3. kate fountain June 25, 2012 at 9:19 am #

    Thank you so much for your blog. You look so well and beautiful – very encouraging. I finished chemo 8 months ago, radio-therapy 6 months ago and still taking hormone therapy (for the next 5 years). I am happy to be alive but my hair was getting a bit depressing. Seeing your blog makes me quite hopeful for the future! Hope all goes well for you in the future. Best wishes, Kate

    • rosaslump August 26, 2012 at 11:10 am #

      Hi kate! I know the feeling with the hair, may seem silly bearing in mind what we´ve been through, but it really gets you down, doesn´t it? specially when you start feeling well but the hair still not wanting to fully come out. Hope all is going well xx

  4. Jackie July 5, 2012 at 6:36 pm #

    This has been so inspirational for me. I was diagnosed last June with breast cancer and lost all my hair too. It is growing back slowly and I look forward to length like before. Thanks for sharing!

    • rosaslump August 26, 2012 at 11:09 am #

      Hi jackie! thanks for your comment, it is always lovely to hear that people find inspiration in the blog! hope your hair growth is going well xx

  5. Ivana Renier July 21, 2012 at 1:24 am #

    Love to see you happy and healthy – I am on my 17th week post chemo (ovarian cancer) … and my hair has grown an inch thus far 🙂 Your pictures make me smile and give me comfort. It’s amazing what we are able to concur and what it shapes us to be .. keep up the good work 🙂

    • rosaslump August 26, 2012 at 11:03 am #

      Thanks ivana! may the happiness and healt last a lifetime ;-). it is amazing isn´t it what life can put us thoughr, and yet we still come out the other side smiling! x

  6. Ciel August 7, 2012 at 7:14 pm #

    I emailed you the other day, i’m not sure if you received it. Just wanted to let you know I started blogging as well about my experiences. You were definitely an inspiration for me to start this blog! Btw these photos are amazing and you look great!

    • rosaslump August 26, 2012 at 10:59 am #

      Hello!!! sorry I have not yet replied to your email! will have a look at your blog now too. Glad to hear this has inspired you to start blogging too xx

  7. Anne D. December 1, 2012 at 8:48 am #

    Hello, I know it has been a few months since your last blog, but I still feel compelled to let you know how you have truly helped me through my own chemo hair loss and hair growth. I’ve had uterine cancer and now 17 weeks post chemo completion for my ovarian cancer diagnosed this year, all before my 40th birthday! I keep going back to your blog as it helps me feel less alone in dealing with chemo hair obsession. 🙂 For a while, I felt and looked like a hairless alien, but reading about your journey made me smile and also cry as I can relate to many of your experiences. I am now having some fun with my ultra-short hair (happy to have ANY hair!) Hope you continue to do well, thank you so much for sharing! -Anne (Seattle, WA USA)

  8. Michele Cummings 38 yrs old December 10, 2012 at 12:45 am #

    You look amazing! I have one more chemotherapy treatment. It has been a long road to recovery. I decided to do a double mastectomy and i REQUIRE TWO MORE SURGERIES!! i CANNOT WAIT TO START GROWING MY HAIR BACK! looking good girlfriend!

  9. Cristina December 11, 2012 at 5:24 pm #

    Hello excuse as I write, but I’m Italian and I’m using the google translator, I wanted to thank you for your blog that gives me so much hope, I do not know how many times I came to see your photos for my courage, thank you with all my heart.
    I embrace you. Cristina.

    • rosaslump January 13, 2014 at 10:39 pm #

      grazie mile Cristina!

  10. Louisa June 1, 2013 at 3:56 pm #

    wow I am really amazed to read about your journey. Your hair is very beautiful now but there is so much more that happened with you. It is a lovely blog and inspiration. All the best, louisa.

    • rosaslump January 13, 2014 at 9:24 pm #

      hi Louisa! thanks for your kind words, hope all is well. Hugs

  11. Alex June 16, 2013 at 10:08 pm #

    Hey I am blogging about my struggle with cancer and was wondering what stage you are at and what type you have/had?

    • rosaslump January 13, 2014 at 9:23 pm #

      Hi Alex! I a now 4 years post-chemo and with regards to the type I had hormone receptive, does this help? x

  12. Anne-Marie Maas May 1, 2014 at 7:03 pm #

    Hi Rosa,
    Thank you for your blog! I’m from the Netherlands. Since february i know i have bc. I’ve just started chemo. Your experiences help me to understand all the feelings i’m going through. Thank you so much!! I wish you all the good things in live!
    AnneMarie

Leave a Reply

