My (34th) birthday!

22 Apr

Last Friday was my 34th birthday. As years pass and I move further away from my diagnosis and closer to the 5 year post-breast cancer date, my birthday takes a whole new meaning. I am filled with happines, thrilled at the realisation that “hey, I am still here”! I feel I do not have the luxury of fearing getting old. After cancer my fear is NOT getting old. So I celebrated over four days. On thursday night my boyfriend Raoul took me to see a brilliant play. On friday I spent the morning with our dog Aby and went to the beach for a run. By lunchtime Raoul was back from work and we went to one of our favourite cafe for some coffee and bagels. I then had my first piece of birthday cake (out of 4 more that were to come).

Image

Then in the evening a bunch of friends came over for “la fiesta del huevo frito” aka “the fried egg party”. We ate (eggs), we drank, we laughed.

Image

The day after, my dad, his wife and my ´lil brother Adam came over for lunch. Raoul´s brother and nephews also came, over. Full house! isn´t Adam gorgeous?

Image

On Sunday, Raoul and I did the “Cursa dels Bombers” which is catalan for the “Firefighters Race” an annual 10k run in the city of Barcelona. It was fun, despite struggling to finish it and injuring my foot (and just to clarify, no, he is not proposing!).

Image

And then this morning at the office when I was fully absorved by my computer screen, my colleagues came in with flowers and cake and sang happy birthday (I took my birthday off work you see). Does this mean I have had a 5 day birthday?  I am one lucky girl, I mean *woman*.

 

 

12 Responses to “My (34th) birthday!”

  1. Liz April 22, 2013 at 11:11 pm #

    Happy Birthday and thank you for your blog. It’s wonderful to see another survivor doing so well. I finished chemo in 2011 and am now 5 1/2 months pregnant with my first child. God Bless!

    • rosaslump January 13, 2014 at 9:28 pm #

      Hi Liz! congratulations on the pregnancy. Hope all is well and you are enjoying motherhood. x

  2. May April 23, 2013 at 4:43 pm #

    Happy belated birthday!!

    Wishing good health and many many years of happiness!! xxx

    • rosaslump January 13, 2014 at 9:27 pm #

      May! thanks so much! wish you the same xx

  3. Ciel April 26, 2013 at 1:54 pm #

    Happy belated birthday! I just finished chemo and will continue herceptin treatment. Reading another update on your blog after such a long time is great! It gives me hope that one day… I will be able to pick up the pieces and move on as well. That it might get a little easier, although we probably never fully forget.

    • rosaslump January 13, 2014 at 10:55 pm #

      Hi Ciel! you ever forget, but it does get easier. Hope all is well in your life xx

  4. Heike May 5, 2013 at 2:30 pm #

    My best wishes to your birthday!
    I found your blog through a friend (and fellow longhair), who has lost her hair due to chemo and breast cancer too.
    Me too I have a blog about hair (see below) and even though I am lucky to live without a cancer diagnosis, I have to cope with hairloss and regrowth constantly. And I know exactly how it feels when you become obsessed with your hairgrowth. Yes, it is all vain, but still it is more. Hair covers your soul somehow.

    I will share your blog with my followers the next days and will let you know.
    All my best wishes to you! Right after your chemo you looked poisend, all tired. But you have regained your beauty. And the best is, that on almost every photo you did not lose your smile. 🙂
    Again, best wishes!

    Heike
    from
    haselnussblond.blogspot.de

    • rosaslump January 13, 2014 at 9:25 pm #

      hello Heike! thanks for your lovely comment and taking the time to write to me 🙂 x

  5. Desiree July 11, 2013 at 7:28 am #

    Dear Rosa,

    Thank you for your blog. Truley an inspiration. I’d love to hear from you again. Keep well,

    Kind regards,
    Desiree

    • rosaslump January 13, 2014 at 9:22 pm #

      hello Desiree! hope all is well with you, sorry for the late reply!!! hard to keep up with the lovely comments you all leave!

  6. Jan B December 5, 2013 at 3:06 am #

    Wanted to let you know how much I appreciated your blog during my cancer year. I am 2 years out – Woot, woot!

    Thank you so much for taking the time to document your hair growth (my hair came in almost identically to how yours did) Knowing what to expect was a real anxiety reducer for me.

    Glad to see that life is good. You look so HAPPY! Thanks for sharing

    • rosaslump January 13, 2014 at 9:20 pm #

      thanks so much Jan 🙂 hope all is well with you!

Leave a Reply

