Hair growth after chemo is 4 years old today!

13 Jan

On a day like this four years ago I started this blog, aptly titled hair growth after chemo. The aim was to document how hair grows after going bald from the side effects of chemotherapy. It was also a way for me to deal with the obsession that growing THE hair became once my treatment finished. So lets have a look at the pertinent before and after photos.

1 WEEK after chemo my hair looked like this:

Image

4 YEARS after chemo my hair looks like this:

Image

Not bad I would say!

Thinking about this post today has made me reflect on what has happened in the last 4 years since I finished treatment and tried to regain some control over my life. So I thought I would do a kind of “the last 4 years in numbers and pictures” type post.

In the past 4 years I have…

Moved cities once: from London to my home town, Barcelona.

Image

Fallen in love once (maybe twice if we count aby 😉 )

Image

Moved houses three times

Image

Been on train rides

Image

Adopted a muuuuch healthier lifestyle 

Image

Done my third 10k run (half marathon next?)

Image

Been to a music festival with lovely friends

Image

Rescued two cats

Image

Been busy writing 100,000 words for my PhD (nearly there!)

Image

Had lots of fun with these two!

Image

Been to the beach with my girlfriends countless amounts of times

Image

My little brother and I have gone from looking like this…

Image

to this… (quite an improvement on both sides, don’t you think?)Image

I have visited London, Morocco, Rio de Janeiro and SevilleImage

And I have had many medical tests, all with good results (fingers crossed)

Image

And then there are those things that cannot be counted, the amount of times I have laughed, felt happy and on top of the world. And the times I have felt down, anxious and scared. Because the thing with life after cancer, as these photos show, is that you can enjoy it again. However, there is a dark side too, at least for me. The dark side is those times when I get scared that now I’m cancer free, it will come back to snatch it all. And the dark side is most felt when I hear of another life taken away by this illness: from loved ones, to people who have passed through my life, to those who I have only met virtually and those who I have actually never met. This post is dedicated to them. And to all of us who are still here, let’s (try) enjoy life while it is still in our hands. 

 

16 Responses to “Hair growth after chemo is 4 years old today!”

  1. yvette January 13, 2014 at 9:08 pm #

    Bravo amiga! Con el boca abierta de ver tantas cosas tan buenas!

    • rosaslump January 13, 2014 at 9:13 pm #

      Si, verdad? yo también, me ha servido un poco para darme cuenta de la cantidad de cosas buenas que han pasado 🙂

  2. Elina Theotokatou January 13, 2014 at 10:54 pm #

    Hi girl! Congratulations !!!
    I think this is the opportunity I was looking for to say a huge THANK YOU!
    I’m 3 years cancer free (breast cancer), 37 y.o now, and when I lost my hair you were about 6 months after chemo I think. After I stopped crying for my lost long curly blond hair I googled hair growth after chemo to see how long it will take me to gain them back, and I found your blog. You were my only friend and comfort and inspiration on this matter ( and you know it matters more than everything) , you were actually the only one to understand how I was feeling then, because you were just like me, only a few months ahead, and that was and is a comfort. So, Thank you for being there, even through a blog.
    Elina
    Kefalonia, Greece .

    • rosaslump January 13, 2014 at 10:57 pm #

      Hi Elina!

      God you brought a tear to my eye…so lovely to read I was your friend through this. I know so well how lonely it can feel to be going though something most people around you have not experienced, and feeling like no-one understands. Lots of love to you xxxx

  3. Robyn January 14, 2014 at 3:17 am #

    Hey!!
    Congrats to you!! I was diagnosed on Dec 12, 2012 at 31 years old with breast cancer and had both breasts removed on Dec 18, 2012 and started chemo on January 22, 2013. Losing my hair was such a major deal to me. You can hide boob issues but it’s not that easy hiding hair loss. While going through chemo and almost done with it I started searching around about hair growth after chemo and how long it would take to not look bald. I found your site and it gave me such hope!! Your pictures made me almost giddy because I knew I wouldn’t be bald forever!! I finished Chemo on May 22, 2013 and now on Jan 13,2014 my hair is around 3 inches long!! Thank you for putting yourself out there for all of us!! You have helped me through a difficult time and I want to say a great big THANK YOU!!
    Your Friend,
    Robyn

    • rosaslump January 14, 2014 at 8:49 am #

      Hello Robyn! Thanks so much! Comments like yours reinforce the feeling that it was worth bearing my souls and bald head to the world. Yeay! for your hair growth. Lots of love x

  4. ragini kumar January 14, 2014 at 8:03 am #

    Hello!
    I am so happy to see you do so well. Like elina, I too have to thank you for this blog. Your blog has been the best support. When no one else around me could understand the pain of losing hair, a friend from half way across the world, whom I have never even met comforted me the most. Your rocker chic photos made me sport the look here in india too.I am just 20, still going through my treatment and your blog assures me that like you, I too will have a chance at a normal healthy and blessed life again.
    All the best with your PhD. A the happiness in the world to you.
    A big tight hug and lots of love

    • rosaslump January 14, 2014 at 8:52 am #

      hello! Such an honor to be called a friend, and so great to hear that it was comforting and that you felt encouraged to “sport the look”,not always an easy thing. I wish the best best best for you dear and have hope that there is a big opening at the end of the tunnel. Lots of love xx

  5. Susan January 14, 2014 at 7:37 pm #

    What a terrifying bittersweet beautiful world and you said it all with your walk through these past 4 years. Bravo my friend. Love and laugh.

    • rosaslump January 14, 2014 at 7:52 pm #

      Thanks Susan! lots of love (and laugh!) to you too xx

  6. Karen Hokanson January 24, 2014 at 10:33 pm #

    Congrats on 4 incredible years! I am 18 weeks out from my final chemo treatment and am enjoying my new hair growth. Thanks to you and your wonderful blog, I have been reassured that with time, I too will have my hair return to normal. You are such an inspiration for all of us that struggle each day to find the new normal. All the best of everything to you and yours! Hugs my friend!

  7. Veronica Acosta January 27, 2014 at 4:51 pm #

    Hola como estas que felicidad ber fotos nuevas tuyas me an serbido tanto durante estos 2 Anos peliando contra esta pesadilla.. Ya sali de chemotherapia ase 6 meses y e usado tu pajina para muy enticiasmada ber como puede ir cresiendo mi pelo poco a poco.. Y me gusta tanto Es porque me salio asi igual al tuyo crespo y grueso … Quiero agradeserte de corazon que ayas tomado la decision de poner este diario

  8. Mei January 28, 2014 at 11:18 am #

    Hola Rosa! Estás guapísima!! Soy Mei, (del blog tetarota). Muchas gracias por tu mensaje!! Tu blog me ayudó un montón en su día. Ahora estoy bien, con un pecho nuevo estupendo y currando mucho. No he encontrado correo para escribirte, así que te mando un beso muy gordo por aquí! Mei

  9. Cilla April 6, 2014 at 8:22 am #

    Beautiful post my friend, touched my heart so much, I feel the same way now ♡

  10. MM July 3, 2015 at 5:21 am #

    Thank you so much! I have yet to have my first dose of chemo but it starts July 16, 2015. You’re so beautiful and inspiring.

    • rosaslump March 6, 2016 at 11:03 pm #

      Thanks MM, this reply comes very late…hope it all went well xx

Leave a Reply

