I’m back!

6 Apr

Well well, I cannot believe it has been nearly 2 years since I last wrote a post! where does time go?  So much has happened and so much has changed since May 2014 that my fingers cannot keep up with it! where to start?

Something happened not long after my past entry…I found out I was pregnant! my intention was always to share it with you, but life got so so so busy that I didn’t find the time. However, I did write a post for Breast Cancer Care which I was meant to re-post it here and I never did. I think that maybe deep down I needed a bit of a break from the blog. Maybe unconsciously I wanted to disassociate my pregnancy from my cancer. So here I am telling you that after having breast cancer I am now mum to a beautiful little girl called Lua. Here she is:

 

Luabreastfeeding

and here a family photo…

FullSizeRender-3

with my husband! yes because in these past two years not only I became a mother I also became a wife!

FullSizeRender-4

and last, but not least, in September I became a Doctor! so mother, wife and Doctor in two years! you will excuse my absence here now I suppose, as you can imagine I have been very very busy!

As I write this happy post the cancer fear lurks in the background.  I can’t help but feel this way from time to time, specially when I think that things are going well. I guess it is part the experience of having had cancer, even years later and after positive results the fear remains. Becoming a mother has in some ways made this fear a bit more present, a bit more intense and a bit more scary. I guess now I feel I have more to lose than ever.

It is my aim to write more regularly, to share with you my feelings in this new chapter in my life. Fingers crossed I can keep up with it!

 

 

 

 

 

12 Responses to “I’m back!”

  1. s3an3rin April 6, 2016 at 1:24 pm #

    Such a wonderful post. Being diagnosed with stage 3 in Dec of 2012 my wife too is a thriving survivor. She is a very compassionate registered nurse who is currently continuing her education. I am amazed by both of your strength and courage. Thank you for sharing.

    • rosaslump April 6, 2016 at 1:36 pm #

      Oh! so so good to hear! a warm hug to you both 🙂 xx

  2. annemarie@bijmaas.nl April 6, 2016 at 4:23 pm #

    Hi Rosa, Think you for sharing this wonderful news! I had bc in 2014 and your blog was a great support for me. I wish you all the luck in the world with your beautiful family!! Anne-Marie

    Hair growth after chemo schreef op 2016-04-06 13:58: > rosaslump posted: “Well well, I cannot believe it has been nearly 2 > years since I last wrote a post! where does time go? So much has > happened and so much has changed since May 2014 that my fingers cannot > keep up with it! where to start? Something happened not long after m” > >

    • rosaslump April 6, 2016 at 9:58 pm #

      Thanks so much Anne Marie! so great to hear that the blog helped. Best luck to you too! xx

  3. Liz H April 7, 2016 at 1:59 am #

    Oh thank you for the lovely post! Your blog helped get me thru dark days of my own, and I am now a mom of a 2 year old. I had a rare form of cancer from a pregnancy, and a long physical and emotional recovery following. Thank you for the update and congrats on becoming a wife, Doctor and mum!

    • rosaslump April 7, 2016 at 10:25 am #

      Good to hear you are now a mum too! 🙂 thanks for you lovely message xx

  4. May April 7, 2016 at 7:26 am #

    Seeing your posts is like seeing a message from an old friend. So happy that we can share your happiness with you xx

    • rosaslump April 7, 2016 at 10:24 am #

      Thanks May! such a lovely comment! xx

  5. Jameka Jordan April 7, 2016 at 11:25 am #

    Wow that is amazing, life entails many obstacles and you are well measured. Congratulations on your beautiful new family! I followed you a while you where so meaningful during that time because I was going through chemo at that time for Lupus. To mirror your new addition mine was and has been devastating. I lost my youngest son last Thanksgiving to a battle with chronic asthma. Thanks for your encouragement I truly needed it. God Bless!!

    • rosaslump April 20, 2016 at 10:58 am #

      Dear Jameka,
      I am so sorry to hear about your loss, I can’t even imagine the pain you have experienced. Whenever I give happy news, and this blog is mainly about that (mixed with my fears), I am always aware that not everyone has the same experience. I feel lucky to be here and to have all these things, and want to transmit positivity even in hard times. Sending you a warm hug and lots of love.

  6. Rosa April 20, 2016 at 5:49 pm #

    As others have posted, your blogs were a lovely source of inspiration and of hope when I was going through my treatments in early 2012. All the best with your new happiness. 🙂

    • rosaslump May 19, 2016 at 3:30 pm #

      Thanks Rosa! always so happy to hear they were of help! 🙂

Leave a Reply

